Events Calendar

Mystic Contra Dance "The Pie Dance"
Saturday, Aug. 27, 2022,  7:30 PM Eastern - 11:00 PM Eastern
Contact Don - dtheinold@yahoo.com
  • TIME: Dance 7:30-11:00pm --- [NO Registration needed!]
  • WHERE: Groton Senior Center's Community meeting/banquet hall @ 102 Newtown Road, Groton, CT 06340.
  • ROLES: Traditional - "Ladies & Gents" or "Women & Men"
  • Summer is upon us and many local contra dances have closed for the summer due to a lack of air conditioning but, not the Mystic Contra Dance! We have AC!!!!
  • CALLER: Sandy Lafleur. Music is a part of almost everything Sandy does. “Music brings people together.” “I love contra dancing.” She is a caller and has traveled all over New England “b.c.,” before Covid. “It brings all generations together, breaking down barriers. You don’t need a partner, just come. You’re not with the same person all evening.” She organized the Milford Contra Dances years ago and hopes they will soon return.
  • LIVE MUSIC: "First Time String Band." Sally Rogers, Guitar; Howie Bursen, Banjo; Deck Nieforth, Harmonica, Feet, Spoons; and special guest Dan Lanier, fiddle.
  • COVID precautions: Things keep changing! Rapid test beforehand is suggested for all to avoid spreading the virus. Proof of vaccinations (or a negative test within 48 hours) is required. Masks are encouraged, but optional.
    Masks are highly encouraged and recommended but not required.
  • ADMISSION: $10 adults, $7 students. & Donations gratefully accepted! Delicious pies at the break for $3/slice help support the band.
  • CLOTHING & FOOTWEAR: Clothing is casual, layers are best for this invigorating exercise. Please wear non-street shoes that move easily on the floor (rubber soled sneaker are discouraged).
  • PARKING: Plenty of parking in the large parking area next to the building!
  • Website
  • LOCATION: Google Maps
Time Zone Information

Saturday, August 27, 2022, 4:30 PM Pacific time
Saturday, August 27, 2022, 5:30 PM Mountain time
Saturday, August 27, 2022, 6:30 PM Central time
Saturday, August 27, 2022, 7:30 PM Eastern time
Sunday, August 28, 2022, 12:30 AM United Kingdom time

Location Groton Senior Center's hall (CT)
102 Newtown Road
Groton
Connecticut
06340
U.S.A.
14014774247
https://mysticdance.webs.com/
     
Back to Top