View by Month

Janice Burns & Jon Doran: Winter Folksong
Wednesday, Dec. 15, 2021,  3:00 PM Eastern -  5:00 PM Eastern

Janice Burns & Jon Doran went down a storm last time they played for Live to your Living Room, and we’re thrilled to have them back for a very special festive gig this December. Their cosy Christmas concerts have become an annual favourite, as they explain…

“It’s been an ongoing tradition of ours every winter to hunt for festive songs that warm the soul during the long cold months. The longer we’ve played together, the more repertoire of this nature we’ve gathered. In the lockdown of winter 2020, fuelled on mulled wine, we finally decided to release these songs into the wild in the form of a DIY livestream series, filmed against the backdrop of Janice’s fairy-light covered living room. We had so much fun that we’ve decided to take these songs with us on tour this December. We’ll be playing a mixture of seasonal folk songs as well as some favourites from our debut EP. We hope to see you there in your cosiest jumper with a glass of something festive in your hand!”

About Janice Burns & Jon Doran

Janice Burns & Jon Doran are an Anglo-Scottish duo who formed in 2017, after discovering a shared love of traditional music. They find their songs in archives that span the depths of our history; songs that, regardless of age, tell vivid stories about the nature of life, from the ethereal landscapes of ancient ballads to the urban rhythms of work songs.

Their compelling storytelling comes alive through tight vocal harmonies and sensitive interplay between mandolin and bouzouki, with arrangements that balance intricacy with energy. Their dynamic performances are a celebration of their own musical and geographic backgrounds, embracing the differences that connect them.

The duo met whilst studying folk and traditional music at Newcastle University, spending one year at the University of South-East Norway together. These experiences allowed them to hone their craft whilst expanding their audiences further beyond the UK. Their debut EP, Janice Burns & Jon Doran, was released in September 2020 to overwhelmingly positive feedback.

Time Zone Information

Wednesday, December 15, 2021, 12:00 PM Pacific time
Wednesday, December 15, 2021, 1:00 PM Mountain time
Wednesday, December 15, 2021, 2:00 PM Central time
Wednesday, December 15, 2021, 3:00 PM Eastern time
Wednesday, December 15, 2021, 8:00 PM United Kingdom time

Location ONLINE
ONLINE
     
Back to Top