View by Month

The Wilderness Yet
Monday, Jan. 10, 2022,  3:00 PM Eastern -  5:00 PM Eastern

The Wilderness Yet combines the acclaimed talents of folk singer Rosie Hodgson, traditional fiddler Rowan Piggott, and guitarist and flautist Philippe Barnes. Independently, they have earned audiences’ esteem as consummate musicians; together, they weave an eclectic tapestry of traditional and original songs and tunes; from a cappella three-part harmonies to luscious instrumental arrangements.

Rosie Hodgson has been a finalist for the BBC Radio 2 Young Folk Award. After a successful EP and the eponymous album from Crossharbour, she recorded her debut album Rise Aurora to critical acclaim, producing what fRoots called “audible magic”. Rosie’s own songs are heavily influenced by the English tradition and her love of literature and the environment.

Rowan Piggott featured heavily on Rise Aurora, himself a fine singer with a “deep understanding and feel for tradition” (FolkWords). He is known for his fiddle-playing with Georgia Lewis and The Songhive Project, which he founded to raise awareness of the plight of the bees. The winner of the ‘Future of Young Folk Award’ at Bromyard Folk Festival, he recently featured on the cover of The Living Tradition after releasing his solo album Mountscribe.

Philippe Barnes is well known on the folk scene as a virtuosic flautist, but is an equally magnificent guitarist! Since completing an MA in Irish Music Performance at University of Limerick, Philippe has toured with the David Munnelly Band, All Jigged Out, Dizraeli and the Small Gods and Crossharbour (alongside Rosie!). As a session musician he appears regularly on film/tv soundtracks and has recently recorded an EP with pianist Tom Phelan.

“A timeless and heady mix of traditions, the self-titled debut from The Wilderness Yet is an outstanding collection from three musicians at the top of their game.” – Folk Radio UK

Time Zone Information

Monday, January 10, 2022, 12:00 PM Pacific time
Monday, January 10, 2022, 1:00 PM Mountain time
Monday, January 10, 2022, 2:00 PM Central time
Monday, January 10, 2022, 3:00 PM Eastern time
Monday, January 10, 2022, 8:00 PM United Kingdom time

Location ONLINE
ONLINE
     
Back to Top