View by Month

CDSS Common Time with Phil Jamison
Monday, Jan. 17, 2022,  7:30 PM Eastern -  9:00 PM Eastern
Contact camp@cdss.org

Recognizing African American Contributions to Southern Appalachian Music and Dance

The music and dances of southern Appalachia have often been portrayed as culture that was brought to the U.S. from the British Isles. These traditions, in fact, have multicultural roots. They are a blend of earlier European, African, and Native American traditions, and they reflect the cultural and ethnic diversity of America. In this workshop, we will identify some of the many contributions of African Americans to these uniquely “American” traditions. Join us in this presentation on Martin Luther King Day.

Time Zone Information

Monday, January 17, 2022, 4:30 PM Pacific time
Monday, January 17, 2022, 5:30 PM Mountain time
Monday, January 17, 2022, 6:30 PM Central time
Monday, January 17, 2022, 7:30 PM Eastern time
Tuesday, January 18, 2022, 12:30 AM United Kingdom time

Location ONLINE
ONLINE
     
Back to Top