View by Month

From Jane Austen to Fezziwig, and Beyond — Regency dance lecture with Susan de Guardiola
Saturday, Jan. 29, 2022,  5:00 PM Eastern -  6:30 PM Eastern
Contact The Historical Tea & Dance Society www.historicalteaanddance.org / EMAIL: historicalteaanddance@gmail.com

The Historical Tea & Dance Society presents
FROM JANE AUSTEN TO FEZZIWIG, AND BEYOND:
Why the last dance of the evening became the best dance of the night
with dance historian Susan de Guardiola

The ball is almost over: you've worn holes in your slippers, your hair is coming down, and you may be a little bit drunk -- but you still want that one last dance, the finishing dance! Whether it's La Boulangere (the only dance mentioned by name in Jane Austen's novels) or Sir Roger de Coverley (stretching through the Regency to Charles Dickens), or the Grandfather dance, the finishing dance was your last hurrah of the evening.

Internationally-known dance historian Susan de Guardiola returns to guide us through stories of the joyful chaos of the final dances in the glittering Regency ballrooms of England and Europe and across the Atlantic to their North American descendants.

Question and discussion time with Susan at the end!

LIVE ON ZOOM. (There will be no playbacks of this lecture available.)

TICKETS $5 ON SALE NOW!
(Event is limited to 50 attendees.)
LINK TO PAY IS ON OUR HOME PAGE IN SIDEBAR

Event link details will be sent to attendees prior to event.

Susan makes her living as a dance historian and dance teacher. Please support our efforts to bring enjoyable online classes and lectures giving our wonderful teachers the opportunity to do what they do best! 

Time Zone Information

Saturday, January 29, 2022, 2:00 PM Pacific time
Saturday, January 29, 2022, 3:00 PM Mountain time
Saturday, January 29, 2022, 4:00 PM Central time
Saturday, January 29, 2022, 5:00 PM Eastern time
Saturday, January 29, 2022, 10:00 PM United Kingdom time

Location ONLINE
ONLINE
     
Back to Top