View by Month

NEFFA Live! Online Concert Series with Liza Constable and Pete Sutherland & Oliver Scanlon.
Sunday, Jan. 23, 2022,  7:00 PM Eastern -  9:00 PM Eastern

On Sunday, January 23 at 7 PM, NEFFA Live Online! presents an evening of fabulous music - sweet jazz, spirited songs, and fiery fiddle! This month's performers are Liza Constable and Pete Sutherland & Oliver Scanlon! After the concert, all are welcome to stay online to socialize and connect with our beloved NEFFA community!

7 PM

Singer and guitarist Liza Constable presents a sweet collection of American jazz - “America’s classical music”- songs from the 20s to the surprisingly recent. A master of understatedly intense vocal styling, Liza's smooth, elegant voice gets beneath the lyric to the deeper meaning in the words.

8 PM

A warm voiced singer-songsmith and accomplished multi-instrumentalist, Pete Sutherland is known equally for his potent originals and his intense recreations of age-old ballads and fiery fiddle tunes. The American Festival of Fiddle Tunes said Pete “covers the map and shines with a …pure spirit which infuses every bit of his music, and cannot fail to move all who hear him.” He has been on staff at dance and music camps coast to coast and is a widely known year-round teacher and performer at home. Sutherland is a veteran of many touring and recording groups including Metamora, Rhythm In Shoes, The Woodshed Allstars, Woods Tea Company, Ira Bernstein’s Ten Toe Percussion and is a founding member of the long running ‘contradance jamband’ The Clayfoot Strutters. He is also a producer with over 80 projects under his belt, and a prolific songwriter covered by the likes of Cathy Fink and Marcy Marxer, Jay Ungar and Molly Mason, Nightingale and Altan.

A soulful multi-instrumentalist and spellbinding composer, Oliver Scanlon began his journey of musical discovery playing the viola with the Vermont Youth Orchestra when he was nine. Shortly after he was introduced to his mentor Pete and the immense parallel universe of fiddle music! His keen interest in fiddling led him to seek out further learning and performing opportunities through Mark Sustic’s “Fiddleheads” program, and soon he began attending music camps where he studied various styles with Alan Jabbour, Kimberley Fraser, Andrea Beaton, Eric Favreau and other master fiddlers. In 2008, Oliver and a few talented middle school friends formed a group, The Irregulars, a six piece outfit that has played scores of local dances and festivals, and took first prize in the 2011 Young Tradition Vermont talent contest! Then in 2013 he both co-founded the Posse and became the youngest member of Pete’s long running dance band The Clayfoot Strutters. He released his solo album “The Pond Jam” in 2014, which was both his senior project before graduating high school and a testament to his passion and artistry. Recognized not only for his mesmerizing playing, but also for being a meticulous sound tech, Oliver stays quite busy when not on the road with the Posse!

9 PM

Meet and greet, Q&A with performers, social hour!

You must REGISTER for the show in order to receive the Zoom link. To register, click here.

This concert series is made possible by YOU! Please help support these fine performers with a recommended $15 donation. Thank you!

Time Zone Information

Sunday, January 23, 2022, 4:00 PM Pacific time
Sunday, January 23, 2022, 5:00 PM Mountain time
Sunday, January 23, 2022, 6:00 PM Central time
Sunday, January 23, 2022, 7:00 PM Eastern time
Monday, January 24, 2022, 12:00 AM United Kingdom time

Location ONLINE
ONLINE
     
Back to Top