View by Month

Lunatraktors
Tuesday, Feb. 8, 2022,  3:00 PM Eastern -  5:00 PM Eastern

Lunatraktors are choreographer and percussionist Carli Jefferson, and nonbinary vocalist and composer Clair Le Couteur. Influenced by flamenco, post-punk and trip hop, their ‘broken folk’ sound strips trad folk back to rhythm and voice.

The pair turned heads in 2019 when their DIY debut This Is Broken Folk – recorded live in a viaduct arch by Ramsgate harbour – found its way onto MOJO Magazine’s Top Ten Folk Albums of the year. New releases blend analogue synth, whistles and accordion with tuned drums, vocal harmonies and a hybrid of tap dance and body percussion, which Jefferson developed after touring with Stomp.

Reimagining British folk through a shared teenage absorption in dance music and art rock, Lunatraktors have built up a passionate fanbase through performances at festivals, art galleries, museums, theatres and queer cabarets. Their 2021 release The Missing Star, exploring almost a thousand years of British traditional song, once again made MOJO’s Top Ten Folk Albums, this time coming in at #2.
 
ABOUT THE GIG

This event will be held live on Zoom, with a remote sound engineer for high-quality sound. Our gigs allow interaction between artists and audiences, so the artist can hear you applaud and you can even have the chance to ask them any burning questions.

Tickets are £15, with the option to pay a bit less (£10) or a bit more (£25) depending on your circumstances.
Time Zone Information

Tuesday, February 8, 2022, 12:00 PM Pacific time
Tuesday, February 8, 2022, 1:00 PM Mountain time
Tuesday, February 8, 2022, 2:00 PM Central time
Tuesday, February 8, 2022, 3:00 PM Eastern time
Tuesday, February 8, 2022, 8:00 PM United Kingdom time

Location ONLINE
ONLINE
     
Back to Top