View by Month

Maz O'Connor // Vulpes
Thursday, Feb. 10, 2022,  3:00 PM Eastern -  5:00 PM Eastern

vulpes is the new musical project from singer-songwriter Maz O’Connor.

After the release of her acclaimed album ‘Chosen Daughter’ in 2019, Maz O’Connor decided to busk anonymously around both London and Paris, hoping to be inspired with material for new songs. But, in 2020 the busking and the travelling had to stop, and she never made it to Paris. Instead she began instead to take long walks around South London, where she lives. It was during these walks that the alter-ego of vulpes was conceived, inspired by the foxes who claimed the London streets during lockdown.

That summer, O’Connor began collaborating with composer and arranger Will Gardner, and together they created a unique sound that combines acoustic instruments, folk story-telling, electronic elements and, of course, O’Connor’s ethereal vocals. 

The album, due for release in early 2022, is an aural tour of London, with field recordings of the city’s sounds interspersed within its songs. The song cycle explores themes including capitalism as the new world religion, rivers above and below ground, extinction rebellion and the climate crisis, power and who holds it, anxiety, absent friends and, ultimately, a search for peace.

“The perfect mix of youthfulness and gravitas” **** – The Observer

“Maz O’Connor’s ace, apart from her remarkable songwriting talent, is her captivating voice” **** – Q

ABOUT THE GIG

This event will be held live on Zoom, with a remote sound engineer for high-quality sound. Our gigs allow interaction between artists and audiences, so the artist can hear you applaud and you can even have the chance to ask them any burning questions.

Tickets are £15, with the option to pay a bit less (£10) or a bit more (£25) depending on your circumstances.

Time Zone Information

Thursday, February 10, 2022, 12:00 PM Pacific time
Thursday, February 10, 2022, 1:00 PM Mountain time
Thursday, February 10, 2022, 2:00 PM Central time
Thursday, February 10, 2022, 3:00 PM Eastern time
Thursday, February 10, 2022, 8:00 PM United Kingdom time

Location ONLINE
ONLINE
     
Back to Top