View by Month

Sol y Canto for TapRoot Sessions Women in Roots Series
Friday, Feb. 25, 2022,  7:00 PM Eastern -  9:00 PM Eastern
Contact taprootsessions@gmail.com

Tickets $20, Proof of Vaccination Required

Contact: taprootsessions@gmail.com, 413 429 1176

**This is an indoor event. For the safety of our performers and community, proof of vaccination, ID, and masks are required to attend.
TapRoot Sessions produces concerts featuring traditional music. In 2022, we have decided that our series will feature Women in Roots. With the Women in Roots music series, TapRoots Sessions seeks to highlight the contribution of women to the traditional music scene, provide performance opportunities for women artists, and inspire future generations of girls and women to participate and lead in the folk community.

About the Band:

Sol y Canto is the award winning Pan-Latin ensemble led by Puerto Rican/Argentine singer and bongo player Rosi Amador and New Mexican guitarist and composer Brian Amador. Featuring Rosi’s crystalline voice and Brian’s lush Spanish guitar and inventive compositions, Sol y Canto is known for making their music accessible to Spanish- and non-Spanish speaking audiences of all ages.
Sol y Canto’s original songs are distinguished by poetic, often quirky lyrics set in a framework of varied musical styles with surprising twists. They can make you dance, laugh, cry and sigh all in one concert. Their arrangements of classic and contemporary Latin tunes are always fresh and original. With Brian’s commanding, intricate guitar playing, Rosi’s rhythmic drive on cajón and bongos, and liberal use of vocal improvisation, the duo often sounds like a much larger ensemble.
For more info about the band visit www.solycanto.com

“Every Sol y Canto album is a demonstration of what the poet Federico García Lorca identified as deep song. Always they evoke the sensual splendor of simply being vitally, vividly alive in a magical and mysterious universe. Brian Amador is a Spanish modernist poet in the guise of a musician…Together, Rosi and Brian Amador create a musical marriage made in heaven.”
- Norman Weinstein, music critic

This Concert is supported by a grants from the local cultural councils of Lee, New Marlborough, Richmond, Sandisfield, Sheffield, and Tyringham.
Cultural Council.

Time Zone Information

Friday, February 25, 2022, 4:00 PM Pacific time
Friday, February 25, 2022, 5:00 PM Mountain time
Friday, February 25, 2022, 6:00 PM Central time
Friday, February 25, 2022, 7:00 PM Eastern time
Saturday, February 26, 2022, 12:00 AM United Kingdom time

Location Dewey Hall
91 Main Street
Sheffield
MA
01257
United States
     
Back to Top