View by Month

Portland Roadhouse Film Festival
Sunday, Mar. 13, 2022,  2:00 PM Eastern -  9:00 PM Eastern

On Sunday, March 13, The Portland Roadhouse presents the first ever, online, all day film festival presenting five films that explore traditional music and dance in America. This program will be the first look at several new films from accomplished directors and leading figures in the music and dance community. Each film will be followed by a Q&A with the directors. The films encompass a wide range of topics from Bob McQuillen in New England, the Canote Brothers in the Pacific Northwest, Southern Black roots music, past and present, and building community through dance in rural Oregon. Our hosts Chris Wright and Susan Michaels will guide us through it all. These films are not available on any online platform and will not be streamed after the event.

The program:

  • Paid To Eat Ice Cream, (2001), David Millstone, director. The story of Bob McQuillen and the New England contra dance scene
  • The Canote Twins (in production), Larry Edelman, dir, A history of the influential Pacific Northwest musicians, Greg and Jere Canote.
  • Don't Get Trouble In Your Mind: The Carolina Chocolate Drops Story (2018) John Whitehead, dir. The rise of the influential string band, and the untold story of how blacks and whites collaborated to create early American popular music.
  • Take It Back (in production) Ben Hunter and Joe Seamons, dirs. Northern Mississippi string band music history through interviews with descendants of the early 20th century players.
  • Take Hands (to be released 2022) Doug Plummer, dir. A story of how music and dance can reach across cultural divisions in a small Oregon town.

Details:

  • When: Sunday, March 13, 2022 from 11:00 am to 6:00 pm PDT (spring ahead the night before)
  • Where: In the comfort of your own home on the device of your choice.
  • How: Zoom. Prior registration required. Register here.
  • Cost: By donation. All proceeds beyond expenses will benefit Northwest Folklife and CDSS.

Send questions and comments via info@portlandroadhouse.org

Time Zone Information

Sunday, March 13, 2022, 11:00 AM Pacific time
Sunday, March 13, 2022, 12:00 PM Mountain time
Sunday, March 13, 2022, 1:00 PM Central time
Sunday, March 13, 2022, 2:00 PM Eastern time
Sunday, March 13, 2022, 6:00 PM United Kingdom time

Location ONLINE
ONLINE
     
Back to Top