View by Month

HCD Quiet Corner Contra Dance, Fri. 3/04/2022
Friday, Mar. 4, 2022,  7:30 PM Eastern - 11:00 PM Eastern
Contact Don Heinold 401-477-4247
  • In-Person music and dance on Friday March the 4th! We are going to have an excellent evening of live music and dancing! It is pretty easy to do, we laugh and have a great time of it! You do not need to bring a partner, no experience is needed to have a wonderful time of it!
    We mingle at 7:30 pm, Basic moves 7:45pm, dancing to live music 8:00 - 11:00 pm! Hope to see you then!

  • CALLER: Rich Sbardella has extensive experience as a dance leader. Early on, he was mentored by the legendary caller, Dick Leger. Dick was a master of timing and phrasing his calls.

  • MUSIC: The "Dead Sea Squirrels" are: Cathy Mason, fiddle; Craig Edwards, fiddle, banjo, mandolin (but not all at the same time); and Henry Yoshimura, guitar. They are a versatile band that play the traditional music of the American South, both instrumental and vocal, a rich stew of archaic British transplanted ballads; haunting modal tunes and songs, African-rooted rhythms and blues; Cajun waltzes two-steps; Celtic-influenced guitar nuances; and old-time fiddle and banjo tunes -- driving and stately, bouncy, quirky and often eerily beautiful.

  • COVID: ***VAX & MASKS Required*** We are part of the Hartford Community Dance group (HCD) and will be following their protocols:

    1. *** All attendees (e.g., organizers, volunteers, dancers, bands, callers, instructors, listeners) must be vaccinated (at least two doses of Pfizer/Moderna or one of J&J). Each must present their CDC vaccination certificate (photocopies and cellphone photos are OK).

    2. *** All attendees (except the caller and band members, who will be segregated in one corner of the hall) must be masked, with masks covering mouth and nose.

    3. *** All attendees must sign and provide contact info (email or phone) on our contact tracing & waiver sheet. By signing each agrees: (1) I am vaccinated. (2) I am not ill today. (3) I understand that I am dancing at my own risk. (4) I will conform with HCD’s safety requirements and the instructions of the dance organizers.

  • ADMISSION: $12.00 per person OR.. Students (with ID, please) are asked to pay $6.
    == Donations are greatly appreciated and encouraged ==

  • PARKING: There is plenty of free parking right in front of the hall.

Time Zone Information

Friday, March 4, 2022, 4:30 PM Pacific time
Friday, March 4, 2022, 5:30 PM Mountain time
Friday, March 4, 2022, 6:30 PM Central time
Friday, March 4, 2022, 7:30 PM Eastern time
Saturday, March 5, 2022, 12:30 AM United Kingdom time

Location Patriot's Park Lodge
172 Lake Street
Coventry
Connecticut
06238
United States
4014774247
http://www.hcdance.org/quiet-corner-contra/
     
Back to Top