View by Month

HCD Quiet Corner Contra Dance, Fri. 4/01/2022
Friday, Apr. 1, 2022,  7:30 PM Eastern - 11:00 PM Eastern
Contact Don Heinold 401-477-4247
  • In-Person music and dance on Friday, April 1! We are going to have an excellent evening of live music and dancing! It is pretty easy to do, we laugh and have a great time of it! You do not need to bring a partner, no experience is needed to have a wonderful time of it!
    We mingle at 7:30 pm, Basic moves 7:45pm, dancing to live music 8:00 - 11:00 pm! Hope to see you then!

  • CALLER: Paul Wilde has been dancing for over 30 years. He was also a school teacher for 16 years, and his classroom experience helped him to develop his calling skills on the dance floor.

  • MUSIC: "Fifer's Delight" is: Walt Sweet, on SuperFlute, or HiD fife; John Kalinowski, on accordion; and... Vince O’Donnell, on fiddle! Fifer's Delight Band has delighted scores of square and contra dancers. Founded by the legendary dance caller and musician Ralph Sweet, the baton was recently passed to Ralph's son Walt to carry on its musical traditions and style. Their repertoire of contradance music is born in New England, détours via Quebec and ricochets off fife-and-drum just for special effect. What makes the tune 'pop' is furious precision, not crazy speed. Eclectic, traditional tunes with plenty of punch; good bass, midrange and treble to keep the toes tapping.

  • COVID: ****VAX & MASKS Required*** We are part of the Hartford Community Dance group (HCD) and will be following their protocols:

    1. All attendees (e.g., organizers, volunteers, dancers, bands, callers, instructors, listeners) must be vaccinated (at least two doses of Pfizer/Moderna or one of J&J). Each must present their CDC vaccination certificate (photocopies and cellphone photos are OK).

    2. All attendees (except the caller and band members, who will be segregated in one corner of the hall) must be masked, with masks covering mouth and nose.

    3. All attendees must sign and provide contact info (email or phone) on our contact tracing & waiver sheet. By signing each agrees: (1) I am vaccinated. (2) I am not ill today. (3) I understand that I am dancing at my own risk. (4) I will conform with HCD’s safety requirements and the instructions of the dance organizers.

  • ADMISSION: $12.00 per person OR.. Students (with ID, please) are asked to pay $6.
    == Donations are greatly appreciated and encouraged====

  • FOOD: Some snacks offered at the break.

  • PARKING: There is plenty of free parking right in front of the hall.

  • WEBSITE

  • LOCATION: Google Maps

Time Zone Information

Friday, April 1, 2022, 4:30 PM Pacific time
Friday, April 1, 2022, 5:30 PM Mountain time
Friday, April 1, 2022, 6:30 PM Central time
Friday, April 1, 2022, 7:30 PM Eastern time
Saturday, April 2, 2022, 12:30 AM United Kingdom time

Location Patriot's Park Lodge
172 Lake Street
Coventry
Connecticut
06238
United States
4014774247
http://www.hcdance.org/quiet-corner-contra/
     
Back to Top