View by Month

Contra & ECD with Cathy Hollister and Reelplay (an All Hands In Event by the Atlanta DistDance)
Saturday, Apr. 2, 2022,  7:30 PM Eastern -  9:30 PM Eastern
Contact Dave Marcus (dmarcus123@gmail.com)

Please join Cathy Hollister and Reelplay. virtually, on April 2nd at 8:00pm (doors open 7:30) for rides on a carousel and a ferris wheel, a faithless woman, flirtation, fools, and much more. (Sun Assembly required!)

Slated for your pleasure are adaptations of ECD dances (Faithless Nancy Dawson, Sun Assembly, Lord & Lady of the Rings, Mendocino Redwoods, The Corporation (time permitting) and contras (The Carousel, Company of Fools, Flirtation Reel, and Ferris Wheel), plus a pair of waltzes (The Odessa Waltz, probably, and another).

Doors open: 7:30pm US/CAN Eastern time
Music for listening and dancing: 8:00-9:30ish
Caller: Cathy Hollister
Band: Reelplay
Link
Donations

Socialize, enjoy listening to good music, chatting with friends, and dance if it moves you. Stay with us after the dance as we go around the circle and share the highlight of our week! Our half contra and half half ECD program (plus a pair of waltzes) is selected to be easy and satisfying for one or two people. Callers, bands, and our sound tech are not paid—they rely on your generous tips. Please use the link above to donate as you can.

Cathy Hollister enjoys calling English Country dances almost as much as she enjoys dancing. She has been a regular caller in Nashville, TN for several years and has been a frequent guest caller throughout the region. She loves the full range of dances from new compositions to the old favorites.

Reelplay, an Atlanta dance band with both England and New England in their hearts, features Dave Marcus, concertina, and Robbin L Marcus on piano (and a bit of percussion). They enjoy an eclectic mix of tunes including New England, Quebecois, bal folk, ECD, and many originals. Playing in bands such as Over the Moon, 'Round Robbin, Renewable Energy and Holy Coyote, these musicians have lifted dancers’ feet and spirits for several decades. Dancers say: "The live music that Reelplay offers is a real treat ... Such a pleasure to dance to! ... Your music is amazing. You definitely have a unique and danceable sound." And, "Ah…. Gorgeous! ….the lyricism, the lifts in the piano….peaceful and lovely." - Daron Douglas. Listen to Reelplay here.

Doors open at 7:30 Eastern for socializing. Dancing starts at 8:00 with the last waltz at about 9:30, and the hall will remain open for visiting, games, and farewells.

Please share!

Atlanta DistDances are a community service from Kimbi Hagen, Cis Hinkle, Robbin Marcus & Dave Marcus. Atlanta DistDance uses gender-free calling.

Time Zone Information

Saturday, April 2, 2022, 4:30 PM Pacific time
Saturday, April 2, 2022, 5:30 PM Mountain time
Saturday, April 2, 2022, 6:30 PM Central time
Saturday, April 2, 2022, 7:30 PM Eastern time
Sunday, April 3, 2022, 12:30 AM United Kingdom time

Location ONLINE
ONLINE
     
Back to Top