View by Month

HCD's 2nd Saturday Contra Dance, Sat 04/09/2022
Saturday, Apr. 9, 2022,  7:00 PM Eastern - 10:30 PM Eastern
Contact Don Heinold - Text: 401-477-4247
  • What an exciting evening of music and dance we have in store for you at the next 2nd Saturday Contra Dance! All dances are taught and prompted by the caller. Our dances are smoke-, alcohol-, and fragrance-free. You don't need to bring a partner (but do feel free to bring friends!)!

  • 7:00 sign in and mingle, 7:15, welcoming-beginner's session, 7:30 - 10:30 live music and dancing!

  • Caller: Don Heinold has been calling all over New England for over 11 years. Don is regularly sought out for weddings, parties, and dances. He was the organizer of Mostly Waltz RI and is frequently asked for private waltz lessons.

  • Music: Jumpstart band are: Gene Albert. bass: Paul Lizotte, fiddle; and Victor Troll, piano. They play a mix of Quebecois, New England, and Celtic music for dances throughout New England. As an added treat they will add Becky Miller, on fiddle to their trio making it a quartet! Becky is a really fine fiddler and Professor of Music at Hampshire College who also plays fiddle for another excellent contra dance band named Dogtown!

  • COVID: *** VAX CERTIFICATES ARE REQUIRED ***

    • All attendees (e.g., organizers, volunteers, dancers, bands, callers, instructors, listeners) must be vaccinated (at least two doses of Pfizer/Moderna or one of J&J). Each must present their CDC vaccination certificate (photocopies, cellphone photos, and CT vax passports are OK). We prefer you be boosted as well.

    • All attendees must sign and provide contact info (email or phone) on our contact tracing & waiver sheet. By signing each agrees: (1) I'm vaccinated. (2) I'm not ill today. (3) I understand that I am dancing at my own risk. (4) I will conform with HCD’s safety requirements and the instructions of the dance organizers.

  • Admission: $13.00 ($5 students with ID, $30 family maximum)

  • Food: We offer snacks at the break. AND... this is a smoke and alcohol free event.

  • Parking: Parking is tight. Please park on the street or in the public lot behind Keeney Hall (about 1/10 mi north on Main St). There's no parking on the Temple grounds. Please do not even turn into the Temple drive or that of the neighboring house.

  • Dress: Dress is casual and please bring shoes that move easily on the floor. Best to wear layers of comfortable clothing!

  • Website

  • Location: Google MapMapQuest Map

We hope you will join us then!!!

Time Zone Information

Saturday, April 9, 2022, 4:00 PM Pacific time
Saturday, April 9, 2022, 5:00 PM Mountain time
Saturday, April 9, 2022, 6:00 PM Central time
Saturday, April 9, 2022, 7:00 PM Eastern time
Sunday, April 10, 2022, 12:00 AM United Kingdom time

Location Temple Beth Torah's social hall
130 Main Street
Wethersfield
CT
06109
United States
4014774247
http://www.hcdance.org/contra/
     
Back to Top