View by Month

Ballad Night at Berea College, Featuring Súle Greg Wilson
Friday, Apr. 22, 2022,  7:30 PM Eastern
Contact disavinoe@berea.edu

Attention, traditional music/folk music/ballad lovers/singers of songs!

Súle Greg Wilson, founding member of the Carolina Chocolate Drops, will perform at Ballad Night at Berea College on Friday, April 22 at 7:30 P.M. in Gray Auditorium, Presser Hall. The evening is hosted by the Berea College Folk-Roots Ensemble. The event will also be livestreamed here.

Mr. Wilson will present a half-hour set of African-American ballads which will be followed by a ballad round robin. The evening is free and open to the general public. All may take part in the round robin. All audience members must be masked as per college policy due to the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic.

With fifty plus years as a community musician, inter-cultural healer, and storyteller, Súle Greg Wilson mines tradition for the power and wisdom within. He has shared at bembés, block parties, boardrooms, ceildhs, festivals, horas, jooks, shouts, and symposia.

Born and raised in Washington, DC, with university time in Ohio and New York City, Súle received his Masters in History/Archival Management from NYU; served as Director for the Smithsonian Institution’s Afro-American Index Project (precursor to the NMAAHC), from 1991 to 1994; and co-led 2005’s historic Black Banjo Gathering. He has produced numerous Folk and World albums, and his award-winning book, The Drummer’s Path: Moving the Spirit with Ritual and Traditional Drumming, is an international standard in the field.

Time Zone Information

Friday, April 22, 2022, 4:30 PM Pacific time
Friday, April 22, 2022, 5:30 PM Mountain time
Friday, April 22, 2022, 6:30 PM Central time
Friday, April 22, 2022, 7:30 PM Eastern time
Saturday, April 23, 2022, 12:30 AM United Kingdom time

Location ONLINE (Copy)
     
Back to Top