View by Month

The Fay Hield Trio @ Folk Weekend Oxford
Sunday, Apr. 24, 2022, 10:30 AM Eastern - 12:15 PM Eastern

Born and raised in Yorkshire, folk artist and academic Fay Hield seemed destined to carve out a career in traditional folk music. Growing up in the famous Bacca Pipes Folk Club in Keighley, Fay formed a bond of community and tradition that would go on to inspire. A singer who seems to have been born knowing how to carry a tune, but with the rarer gift of knowing how to go straight to the heart of a song, she combines vision, inspiration and outstanding musicianship to explore what it means to be human.

Fay released her latest album Wrackline in September 2020. Exploring ideas of the space between, Wrackline looks to ghosts, fairies, spirits and talking animals to understand what it is about the unknown that entrances us. Working with traditional materials, and developing them with new compositions, Fay explores the feelings they evoke and how they relate to her experience in the contemporary world. Expect to be enveloped in music, woven through magical stories and teased into thinking about your relationship with the world around you.

Fay will be joined by Sam Sweeney on fiddle and Rob Harbron on concertina, guitar and harmonium for this special gig, streamed live from Folk Weekend Oxford.

About the Gig

This is a hybrid gig, hosted in partnership with Folk Weekend Oxford so you can enjoy the festival from wherever you are!

Tickets for the livestream are £16.50, with the option to pay a bit less (£10) or a bit more (£25) depending on your circumstances. You only need one ticket per household.

Time Zone Information

Sunday, April 24, 2022, 7:30 AM Pacific time
Sunday, April 24, 2022, 8:30 AM Mountain time
Sunday, April 24, 2022, 9:30 AM Central time
Sunday, April 24, 2022, 10:30 AM Eastern time
Sunday, April 24, 2022, 3:30 PM United Kingdom time

Location ONLINE
ONLINE
     
Back to Top