View by Month

Melrose Quartet @ Folk Weekend Oxford
Sunday, Apr. 24, 2022,  2:30 PM Eastern -  4:30 PM Eastern

Melrose Quartet are truly an all-round folk act, with both tight a capella harmony and energy-packed instrumentals. They comprise leading English musicians Nancy Kerr (2015 BBC Folk Singer of the Year), James Fagan, Jess & Richard Arrowsmith with twin fiddles, guitar and bouzouki, melodeon and four strong voices.

From deep roots in their hometown’s vibrant music, song and dance scene, to smashing concert appearances in the UK and abroad, Sheffield-based Melrose Quartet have attracted a reputation for making music that truly connects with people. All four are internationally renowned singers, instrumentalists, writer/composers and teachers and in 2017 they were proud to be named the new patrons of Whitby Folk week. Their latest album ´Dominion´ expands and strengthens the musical presence they first asserted with ´Fifty Verses´, their 2014 BBC Folk Award-nominated debut CD.

In concert, Melrose Quartet perform a diverse repertoire – carousing chorus songs, lively dance tunes, ancient stories and modern pieces written in celebration of everything from weddings & birthdays to issues that affect all of our 21st century lives. This is music for everybody.

About the Gig

This is a hybrid gig, hosted in partnership with Folk Weekend Oxford so you can enjoy the festival from wherever you are!

Tickets for the livestream are £16.50, with the option to pay a bit less (£10) or a bit more (£25) depending on your circumstances. You only need one ticket per household.

Time Zone Information

Sunday, April 24, 2022, 11:30 AM Pacific time
Sunday, April 24, 2022, 12:30 PM Mountain time
Sunday, April 24, 2022, 1:30 PM Central time
Sunday, April 24, 2022, 2:30 PM Eastern time
Sunday, April 24, 2022, 7:30 PM United Kingdom time

Location ONLINE
ONLINE
     
Back to Top