View by Month

Shepherdstown English Dance Workshop and Evening Dance
Saturday, Apr. 30, 2022,  2:00 PM Eastern - 11:00 PM Eastern
Contact Joanie Blaont (304) 263-2531 upperpotomac@gmail.com

Afternoon Workshop & Evening Dance
Saturday, April 30, 2022
Workshop 2-5pm
Evening Dance 8-11pm

English country dancing draws from a tradition dating to the 1600s. Revived in the early 1900s, the modern form includes folk, classical, and modern music, with corresponding dances that range from stately to romping, jaunty to driving, that can be playful, serious, sweet or meditative.

An afternoon workshop, and an evening dance is designed to be enjoyable for dancers of mixed abilities to experience old favorites and learn some new dances as part of the Upper Potomac English Dance Musician’s Weekend workshop activities and co-sponsored by Shepherdstown Music and Dance.

Dance leader Melissa Running will be leading the workshop and evening dance. Her clear teaching and knowledge of the dances make her programs both lively and fun, and full of interesting dances.

Liz Donaldson and Tina Chancey provide the music for the afternoon program, the evening dance will feature the Oorts-Wiesler Orchestra, which includes many of our favorite local musicians in a large ensemble led by Paul Oorts and Dave Wiesler.

Cost: $15 per session, or $25 for both.
$12 per session or $20 for both for SMaD members.

Attendance will be limited to 50 dancers for maximum enjoyment.

ECD Dancer's Flyer

Get a Ticket

Time Zone Information

Saturday, April 30, 2022, 11:00 AM Pacific time
Saturday, April 30, 2022, 12:00 PM Mountain time
Saturday, April 30, 2022, 1:00 PM Central time
Saturday, April 30, 2022, 2:00 PM Eastern time
Saturday, April 30, 2022, 7:00 PM United Kingdom time

Location Shepherdstown War Memorial Building
102 E German Street
Shepherdstown
West Virginia
25443
USA
(304) 263-2531
https://www.upperpotomacmusic.info/english-dance-musician-s-weekend
     
Back to Top