View by Month

The Last Inklings
Wednesday, May. 11, 2022,  3:00 PM Eastern -  5:00 PM Eastern

The Last Inklings are Leonardo MacKenzie and David Hoyland, both accomplished multi-instrumentalists with a solid folk background. The band’s innovative sound crosses genres, centred around cello, mandolin and vocal harmony, layered with guitar, piano, strings, synths and percussion. With vibrant backstories and creative musicianship, their songs have a modern flavour that is rich with imagery and narrative, exploring at their core what it is to be human.

Their name is a nod to the mid 20th century literary group which included Tolkien and C.S. Lewis, although their inspiration is drawn from wider sources than just these authors, ranging from Carl Jung to Terry Pratchett. Thoughtful depth is handled with a light touch, balanced with playfulness, metaphor and humour. Musically their influences are equally diverse, including artists such as Moulettes, Punch Brothers, and the cinematic soundscapes of composers like Max Richter to the traditional songs and tunes of the British Isles.

The Last Inklings released their debut album, The Impossible Wild, in Autumn 2021, following the release of their EP Alchemy in Spring 2020.

“It’s hard to believe there will be a better debut album this year” – Folk Radio UK

“Beguiling…exquisitely crafted and endlessly inventive” – Morning Star

“Fascinating … There is nothing around that sounds quite like these guys” – folking.com

ABOUT THE GIG

This event will be held live on Zoom, with a remote sound engineer for high-quality sound. Our gigs allow interaction between artists and audiences, so the artist can hear you applaud and you can even have the chance to ask them any burning questions.

Tickets are £16.50, with the option to pay a bit less (£10) or a bit more (£25) depending on your circumstances.

Time Zone Information

Wednesday, May 11, 2022, 12:00 PM Pacific time
Wednesday, May 11, 2022, 1:00 PM Mountain time
Wednesday, May 11, 2022, 2:00 PM Central time
Wednesday, May 11, 2022, 3:00 PM Eastern time
Wednesday, May 11, 2022, 8:00 PM United Kingdom time

Location ONLINE
ONLINE
     
Back to Top