View by Month

ECD with Brad Foster & Reelplay (An Atlanta DistDance event)
Monday, May. 9, 2022,  7:00 PM Eastern -  9:00 PM Eastern
Contact Dave Marcus (dmarcus123@gmail.com)

Please join Reelplay and Brad Foster on Monday, 5/9, at 7:30 Eastern (doors open at 7:00) for what will be one of our last Zoom dances. Brad has planned a program that we think is both musically gorgeous and has a ton of variety: Jack’s Maggot - Shandy Hall - The Fast Packet - Sir Watkin’s Jig - Bar a Bar - Softly Good Tummas - Levi Jackson - The Potter’s Wheel - Bel Canto, and I believe we'll be playing The Merry Andrew and Tournier à Trois (Turning by Threes) for free waltzing. We'd love to have you, whether you dance or not.

When: Monday 5/9/22
Social time: 7:00-9:00pm US Eastern time
Music for listening and dancing: 7:30-9:00
Caller: Brad Foster
Band: Reelplay
Event Link
Donate

(Callers and bands are not paid—they rely on your generous tips. Please use the link above to donate as you can.)

If you haven't tried a virtual dance, give it a try. Like live dances, our distdances are social events as much as anything - the chance to connect with other dancers, to be part of a community, to remind ourselves of life pre-isolation and look forward to post-isolation. Some people use it like a radio hour and listen while washing dishes or cleaning house. Many don't dance but many do, so enjoy dancing if you are moved, or just enjoy chatting with your friends or listening to good music.

Brad Foster has been dancing and teaching English country, contras and squares, and morris and sword for over fifty years. He is well known for sharing the joy found in dance, and has taught throughout the US, Canada and Europe, including at Boston Centre and programs at Pinewoods, Berea, Hey Days, Mendocino, John C. Campbell Folk School, Augusta Heritage Arts Workshops, Festival of American Fiddle Tunes and many others. Brad co-founded the Mendocino camps, and he started the original BACDS weekends at Monte Toyon oh so long ago. He is now Executive and Artistic Director Emeritus of the Country Dance and Song Society (CDSS), after serving as their Director for 28 years, and he directs New London Assembly, an annual week-long program of English dance that is part of the Amherst Early Music Festival.

Reelplay is a dance band from Atlanta with Dave Marcus, concertina, and Robbin L Marcus on piano (and a bit of percussion) that has delighted dancers from all over. As the core of 'Round Robbin, they have lifted dancers feet and hearts at ECDs in Atlanta and the Southeast.

Dancers say: "The live music that Reelplay offers is a real treat ... Such a pleasure to dance to! ... Your music is amazing. You definitely have a unique and danceable sound. ... Michael & All Angels was touching, yet had plenty of forward motion ... Just great!!"

Listen to Reelplay here

The program of ECDs (and a free waltz or two) is selected to be easy and satisfying with one or two people.

Atlanta DistDance uses gender-free calling.

Please share with your friends near and far! Hope to see you there!

Atlanta DistDances are a community service from Kimbi Hagen, Robbin Marcus & Dave Marcus.

Time Zone Information

Monday, May 9, 2022, 4:00 PM Pacific time
Monday, May 9, 2022, 5:00 PM Mountain time
Monday, May 9, 2022, 6:00 PM Central time
Monday, May 9, 2022, 7:00 PM Eastern time
Tuesday, May 10, 2022, 12:00 AM United Kingdom time

Location ONLINE
ONLINE
     
Back to Top