View by Month

Mystic Contra Dance "The Pie Dance", 05/28/2022
Saturday, May. 28, 2022,  7:30 PM Eastern - 11:00 PM Eastern
Contact Don Heinold 401-477-4247
  • "When was the last time I’d seen people dance? When was the last time I’d danced myself? It occurred to me that dancing could be an ideal spring reset activity." - Melissa Kirsch - New York Times "The Morning" (excerpt). Come enjoy an ideal spring reset activity! Dancing to live music! You are going to have a wicked good time!

  • Contra dancing is informal, with easily-learned dance steps taught by a caller. You do not need to bring a partner with you, as it is customary to switch partners after each dance.

  • Caller: Jim Gregory! Jim has been a performing dancer/choreographer with several groups totaling about 33 years experience.

  • Live Music: Fifer's Delight! Their repertoire of contradance music is born in New England, détours via Quebec and ricochets off fife-and-drum just for special effect. Fifer's Delight has seasoned musicians who integrate well with an energetic caller to make the event come alive.

  • COVID:
    • Vaccination cards will be required OR a Covid Free Test within 48 hours for admission and all participants must give names and contact information, so we can notify attendees if someone who was at the dance later informs us that they've tested positive.
    • Masks are highly encouraged and recommended. Please do.

  • Admission: $10 adults, $7 students. & Donations gratefully accepted! Delicious pies at the break for $3/slice help support the band.

  • Clothing & Footwear: Clothing is casual, layers are best for this invigorating exercise. Please wear non-street shoes that move easily on the floor (rubber soled sneaker are discouraged).

  • Parking: Plenty of parking in the large parking area next to the building!

  • Website: Mystic Contra Dance

  • Location: Groton Senior Citizens Center - Google Maps

Time Zone Information

Saturday, May 28, 2022, 4:30 PM Pacific time
Saturday, May 28, 2022, 5:30 PM Mountain time
Saturday, May 28, 2022, 6:30 PM Central time
Saturday, May 28, 2022, 7:30 PM Eastern time
Sunday, May 29, 2022, 12:30 AM United Kingdom time

Location Groton Senior Center's hall (CT)
102 Newtown Road
Groton
Connecticut
06340
U.S.A.
14014774247
https://mysticdance.webs.com/
     
Back to Top