View by Month

Mystic Contra Dance "The Pie Dance"
From Thursday, Jun. 16, 2022 -  7:30 PM Eastern
To Saturday, Jun. 25, 2022 - 11:00 PM Eastern
Contact Don @ dtheinold@yahoo.com
  • Where: Groton Senior Center's Community meeting/banquet hall @ 102 Newtown Road, Groton, CT 06340.
  • Summer is upon us and many local contra dances have closed for the summer due to a lack of air conditioning but, not the Mystic Contra Dance! We have AC!!!!
  • Caller: Billy Fischer! Bill has been calling dances for over thirty years, starting out in New Haven, Connecticut with the contra dance series that has been a fixture of the folk music and dance scene since 1976. In addition to contra dances in and around the northeast, he has called at various dance camps regionally and nationally.
  • Music: Cathy Clasper-Torch and Dan Lanier. Cathy (violin/fiddle, piano, erhu, cello) is a teacher, performer, recording artist and multi-instrumentalist, with a passion for improvisation and harmony. Dan Lanier, who has enjoyed playing the violin and other instruments for over four decades in various settings, especially loves the thrill and exuberance of square and contra dances.
  • COVID:
    • Proof of vaccination (or negative COVID test with 48 hours) required.
    • All participants must give names and contact information, so we can notify attendees if someone who was at the dance later informs us that they've tested positive.
    • Masks are highly encouraged and recommended. Please do.
  • Admission: $10 adults, $7 students. & Donations gratefully accepted! Delicious pies at the break for $3/slice help support the band.
  • Clothing & Footwear: Clothing is casual. Please wear non-street shoes that move easily on the floor (rubber soled sneaker are discouraged).
  • Parking: Plenty of parking in the large parking area next to the building!
  • Website: Mystic Contra Dance
  • Location: Google Maps:
    Groton Senior Citizens Center - Google Maps
Time Zone Information

Thursday, June 16, 2022, 4:30 PM Pacific time
Thursday, June 16, 2022, 5:30 PM Mountain time
Thursday, June 16, 2022, 6:30 PM Central time
Thursday, June 16, 2022, 7:30 PM Eastern time
Friday, June 17, 2022, 12:30 AM United Kingdom time

Location Groton Senior Center's hall (CT)
102 Newtown Road
Groton
Connecticut
06340
U.S.A.
14014774247
https://mysticdance.webs.com/
     
Back to Top